Finally Friday

I’m so happy it’s Friday! Last night was fun, and allowed me to relax enough to survive through today, but I’m still looking forward to tonight. Tonight will be Friday Night Magic, and I’m playing with a new burn deck I built earlier this week. I’m setting aside my regular decks to try this one, and to allow me some space from a deck that keeps losing. I need to evaluate it, and I’ve already made some changes.

Anyway, last night watched two movies after putting kiddos to bed, and they were both interesting (and fairly new).

First up was Final Destination 5, which lives up to all the rest, with an interesting twist. The ending was certainly surprising, and the start had me wondering. A word to the wise: don’t watch it with someone who has already seen it, since they tend to accidentally give away stuff that ruins it. As usual, there were deaths that made me swear off certain activities forever, though not so many as before (3 was about the worst, and I can guarantee I’ll never get into a tanning bed in the future). What’s nice about the FD series is the consistently interesting storylines, and the fact that there are always characters you feel deserve to die, and those you hope won’t (but they always do).

Secondly is a much anticipated movie starring Harry Potter (not sure the actor’s name, so I’m using the name everyone will associate him with).The Woman in Black is a historical thriller/horror, and had a pervading sense of creepiness throughout. While slow, it was able to mostly hold the attention, though the viewer will need to be patient to find anything out. the opening scene is a sufficient hook to keep you watching, but about halfway through I wanted to stop watching because I was bored. Keep going, it does get better. Overall, I’d only give it a 3/5, but it’s more because the storyline moved too slowly for my taste. If you like a slow, psychological thriller, this may be perfect for you. One nice thing was the happy ending (and no, I’m not giving anything away by that, because it’s not going to be happy in the way you think).

Yes, I’m watching a lot of movies recently, but soon I’ll be reading again, and perhaps even writing. Might even try posting excerpts of my stories or poems, let me know. If I get enough demand through comments, I’ll go ahead and start posting other tidbits. Enjoy!

Leave a comment